Permits

Idaho State law requires that drivers education students be at least 14 1/2 years old to begin a class.

Student must purchase a driver training instruction permit before the first day of class.  The documents required by the DMV are:

  • Certified copy of birth certificate
  • Social security number
  • Photo ID (passport, yearbook photo, activity card, etc.)
  • Verification of Compliance letter from the teen's public school** 
    **The VOC letter can be picked up at your teen's public school administrative office.

Parents and teen both must be present to get the permit at the DMV.  A parent or legal guardian must show ID and provide a marriage license or other legal documentation if their last name is different from the student's last name.

The cost of the permit is $21.50 payable to DMV.   Their address is  254 E Street, Idaho Falls, click on google map,  phone is (208) 529-1350.

The student must have a liability signer if they are under 18.  A parent or legal guardian must show ID and provide a marriage license or other legal documentation if their last name is different from the student's last name.

To learn more about the graduated driver licensing law, i.e., the laws and restrictions that will apply to them while driving on their permit as well as the licensing stage, click here graduated driver licensing law.